CenturyLink Prism Reviews and Online Opinion PollToday I’m conducting a poll of our readers to see what the consensus opinion is on CenturyLink Prism. It’s a new service offered by our local phone company that combines television with telephone and internet and claims to be the best bundling of these services offered.

Currently, I get my high-speed internet access from CenturyLink, but I get my television service through DishTV. I’m thinking it might be cost effective and better service to go with CenturyLink Prism, but I would love to hear what others have to say (and I suspect many readers would like to know as well).

According to the company, CenturyLink Prism TV is a “100 percent digital TV service offering local, premium and high-definition channels delivered over the communications company’s advanced, managed network. Prism is built on an interactive platform, where updates are made automatically to offer customers a better combination of TV entertainment features compared to cable and satellite.”

UPDATE: August 10, 2011 – What a nightmare. Centurylink told me to be at the house on Monday morning at 9:00 a.m. and did not show up until Tuesday at 2:30 p.m. Both my wife and I spent countless hours on the phone with a company that could care less about service. We are not going with Prism. If their service before the sale is this poor, I shudder to think what it would be like to need them after the sale. “Look elsewhere” is my advice if you are considering Centurylink Prism!

What Do You Think About CenturyLink Prism?

Are You Using CenturyLink Prism?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

More Feedback On CenturyLink Prism

Thank you in advance for taking part in our survey. There is a comment section below if you want to add any questions or comments about CenturyLink Prism, and polls like this, when taken by a large enough group, are one of my favorites benefits of the internet. People from all-over can share their opinions and help consumers make a decision before they buy a product or service.

What Customers Think About CenturyLink PrismUpdate: April 10, 2014 – With 1,872 people having participated in the poll through today, the feedback has been fairly consistent now from experienced users. We still see people so upset with their service (more than half of all users surveyed) that they seek out a review site to say “Stay Away!!!” Think about it. There is no reason to come here if you already the service, unless you feel compelled to tell others about it. Your either very happy (27% of customers) or pissed of (51%). I would pay close attention to what they’re saying (and read the comments below).

CenturyLink Prism Review September 2013Update: September 27, 2013 – With 1686 people having participated in the poll through today, I think the feedback is pretty clear. More than a half of all respondents came by to say how much they hate CenturyLink Prism. Why is this so significant? Because most people looking for a CenturyLink Prism review are considering placing an order. Google (and the other search engines) send people searching for CenturyLink Prism reviews to our page, and they read what is here. That means people filling out a negative review of the service were so upset they searched to find a survey to make sure everybody was informed. Read the comments below the post, they are illuminating.

Largest Movies Download Site

Centurylink Prism InformationUpdate: March 22, 2013 – The trend continues, as more survey respondents clearly are unhappy with Centurylink Prism. Based upon the numbers recorded through this morning, more than 1/2 of all survey respondents “hate it” when talking about their experience with Centurylink Prism. It seems this is a product that was marketed by one group of people at Centurylink who did not feel constrained by the reality of the product being offered.

centurylink prism surveyUpdate: November 16, 2012 – The number of people who are clearly disatisfied “hate it” with Centurylink Prism continues to rise. 912 people have taken the time to take this survey, and almost 1/2 of the ones that have or have had Centurylink Prism do not recommend this “service.” It appears to be far more promise and sales pitch than a viable home entertainment option.

Centurylink Prism ServiceUpdate: August 29, 2012 – The trend continues. The number of people who “hate” the Centurylink Prism service continues to rise, while the “love it” group is receding. I have now cancelled my internet service account with Centurylink, as the continued decline in bandwidth and uptime was just too frustrating. I sure wish Tallahassee was able to receive Verizon Fios (not going to happen though).

CenturyLink Prism PollUpdate: May 31, 2012 – We are seeing a consistent trend as more and more people take the Centurylink Prism Poll. The group of people who hate it has risen, the group of people who love it has fallen, and the unsure group has fallen as well. At this point in time, I would strongly encourage you to do your homework before agreeing to a contract of any type with CenturyLink Prism.

Centurylink Prism ReviewUpdate: January 27, 2012 – Things are looking even worse for Centurylink Prism. Their positive numbers have fallen since our last update on November 23, 2011. Here’s a snapshot of the results of our opinion poll regarding what people think about Centurylink Prism. After removing everybody who does not nor has every owned it, we find that Centurylink should have some serious concerns about their hyped product. More than 40% have gotten rid of the service (or are doing so now), while just 32% love the product. Most concerning for Centurylink is that 27% of our respondents have the service and are not willing to say they love it! With the difficulties and costs associated with changing services, this might be the only thing keeping them as customers right now.

In real estate, the best way to see what people have to say about a real estate agent or real estate company is to check out customer feedback online. Though many real estate sites like to pretend to be unbiased and offer agent reviews, I still think that Google is where most people go to tell about their real estate home selling experience or home buying experience.

But until Google get’s CenturyLink Prism into a “place” for reviews, you can let us know here what you think about this “next generation” communications technology.

DIY Basement Secrets

What Do You Think? (107 comments so far)


  1. Sharon Harris
    3 years ago

    I love the prism tv!!The whole home dvr function is wonderful and i finally could get rid of comcast,also saved $45.00 to boot a month!!My install only took around 2 hours for 3 tv’s which i thought was good….would recommend to anyone who has had it with comcast!!


  2. Lou Maruzo
    3 years ago

    Biggest complaint I have is they REFUSE to carry the FOX Business Channel. If they don’t come around in the next six months I’m leaving.


  3. Kevin Patten
    3 years ago

    I got the Prisim and 10 meg internet bundle Saturday October 15th. I was promised that I could watch a HD show on two TV’s at a time. Now I find out that it is not possible. Very disappointing. Also I am only getting about 7 Meg of throughput for my interent. Not the 10 I am paying for. However, the whole bundle is only $65.00 a month and I am happy with that. I will most likely keep the service.


  4. Wabbit
    3 years ago

    I had Directv…. Decided to go with Prism TV. Tech actually showed up early. Did a good job. I am quite happy with Prism TV. Does have its pros and cons. Where I live it works best. My Internet is right about where it needs to be in speed. Can’t complain. WHat most people have to understand is that there will be bugs in the system. It is a new Tv experience after all……


  5. Raul Pedraja
    3 years ago

    Have had it for over a year- lots of bait & switch by sales rep- billed for 4 HD boxes to find out only 2 TVs can have HD (and only if you demand 2 HD feeds). That was never revealed, have constant outages and transmission issues- have escalated to repair multiple time-local techs are not trained. They come, look at wires and declare everything fine; only advice is to reboot system- which I do weekly now- again not a good system. None of the zillions of movies that can be downloaded are in HD- another sales person bait & switch; net net- not something I would recommend


  6. Nathan
    3 years ago

    Thanks for this good unbiased survey and forum. I was curious about the service, and this is exactly the high-level satisfaction survey that I’ve been looking for. Thanks to everyone for sharing your experiences!


    • prismreviews
      3 years ago

      Hey Nathan, hopefully we’ll get more visitors who have (or had) the service. Seems like most people in the poll haven’t used it.


  7. Jane Anthony
    3 years ago

    I absolutely love my prism service! After 3 long years dealing with my comcast services cutting in and out and dealing with there terrible customer service i was delighted to hear there was another option in town other than dish. The whole room dvr is great. Picture quality is amazing. I highly recommend to anyone thinking about getting prism.


  8. C Bentley
    3 years ago

    Revision: They have finally reconnected my DSL. It only took all day. That is was reconnected at all is to the credit of one determined CenturyLink employee; he is still trying to get our TV to work, but he doesn’t think he will be able to accomplish it.
    It’s really ashame that CenturyLink put out such a poorly designed system. Good picture; bad service.
    If you’re thinking about getting the Prism TV, please check with someone who has it before you decide. Undoing their system has been a day long nightmare for my husband and me. We were told that CenturyLink would put everything back the way it was if we were not happy with their system. Apparently, that is NOT TRUE! Their policy is just the opposite, and no one would say that definitively because we were told otherwise. Instead, they just gave us the run around all day. Leaving us without service over a 3-day weekend. And forget about speaking the someone in management, I wonder if they really exist?


  9. PATT
    3 years ago

    Does century link prism offfer email with the internet service? Haven’t totally switched over so I still get email service from my soon to be previous carrier, brighthouse. It isn’t a big deal but it just seems like they would have email service provided. The rep never mentioned it and I forgot to ask.


  10. ANNE
    3 years ago

    I am currently sitting on hold AGAIN with tech support. We have had nothing but problems and have had the system since late November. Have had countless service calls. Last guy that came out, looked at the equipment and told us he was not qualified to fix it…..that was about the 6th service call I had and had spent over an hour on the phone the day before speaking with numerous people and finally a very rude supervisor named Jordan. I switched from Directv because we lose the signal when it rains and in Florida it rains alot in the summer. I am very disappointed as the internet service had been great through CenturyLink prior to adding Prism. It is going on 30 minutes that I have been on hold. I’m sick to death of this and think I’ll be leaving for good.


    • prismreviews
      3 years ago

      Anne, your experience sounds very similar to mine. Good (enough) internet … no to everything else.


  11. KELLY
    3 years ago

    I just had Prism installed on Saturday. Very knowledgeable and proffesional technicians! However I am a little disappointed. The pictue quality is great as long as there is no fast action scenes (ex-sports) showing. There is a major blur/shadow with quick movement. I have an HD 1080p 120hz Samsung TV. I was told by more than one Century Liknk employee that the service is not capable of “pushing” 120hz, only 60hz. So, if you are like me and spent an extra $$$ for the 120hz last yr…..it is a waste with this provider. The DVR capability seems nice. The internet streaming….well….am still figuring that one out. Apparently you hace to have a certion version of windows media player downloaded and to do that you have to have window 11 or 12….it’s complicated…..I will not take the 30 day trial period lightly!!!!


  12. PAUL FORSHAY
    3 years ago

    We are on the schedule for next Thursday (1-19) for installation. I have my concerns about the service and will not disconnect my Comcast services until I have trialed it FULLY for the 30 day period. I have a lot of “stuff” hanging off our router (using wiress N technology….their router is antiquated already with wireless G) and it will challenge them to configure properly or find a way to incorporate my router into my configuration. I have had conflicting conversations with their tech support on whether or not it can be done. Just FYI, I have a security video system with Internet access for remote monitoring along with stand alone IP cameras. All of this requires Port Forwarding within my router and other technical configurations. As mentioned above, wireless-N technology is much more stablr. All of this is in addition to my concers about video quality and functionality of Prism. We will see!


    • prismreviews
      3 years ago

      Paul, please come back and let us know how it goes. Good luck.


  13. Oliver Marcelli
    3 years ago

    READING ALL OF THE READERS POLL AND DIGESTING THEM AS WELL AS POSSIBLE I HAVE REACHED THE WAIT AND SEE AREA. I AM SUPPOSED TO HAVE THE PRISM SYSTEM HOOKED UP ON THURSDAY THE NINETEENTH. WISH ME LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  14. Nik
    3 years ago

    I signed the paperwork last night to switchover. I am nervous after reading the reviews on here. I am truly fed up with the costs of Comcast. My bill increases every couple months with no additional services. I am also set for an install on Thursday. However, I won’t cancel Comcast until I know the system works.


  15. John Las Vegas
    3 years ago

    If you live in the Las Vegas Valley this service is NOT recommended. The signal for tv and internet goes out weekly, and the customer service is outrageously horrible!! Worst investment you could possibly make, and for almost $200 dollars a month this was not a steal. Take your business elsewhere until they perfect this so called “future tv service”.


  16. Vic K
    2 years ago

    Just moved to a new condo. Have Brighthouse now.. costs keep going up and still waiting for the HD cable to be installed !! Got the Centurylink info in the mail and welcome packet.. Was thinking about switching, but the reviews have me doing a double take. Is anyone on here in the South Orlando/Kissimmee area that has Prism and can tell me how they like or dislike it ?? Thanks


  17. Benard Harris
    2 years ago

    I have to tell everyone on here that you will find complaints on the internet for almost anything you are looking for..to me comcast is so horrible bring on prism!!i am due to be hooked up on the 16th and i am looking forward to it..almost every neighbor on my street has it and all have had favorable reviews..


  18. Bob W
    2 years ago

    We live in Central FL and just got the Prism TV service. We already had a landline and 10 Meg Internet, so by combining the TV we get a discount. We have it hooked to 2 TV’s and am very pleased with the picture quality and the free DVR that we can access from the bedroom. We still get 10 megs on the internet when we are watching TV. They did tell us we were “at the end of the line” and would never be able to get HD TV unless they update a service station closer to our house. We have older TV’s so it is no big deal for now. We are probably saving about $45. compared to ComCrap aka Comcast. We haven’t had to reboot anything yet and we have had the DSL service for over 4 years without any problems, so we don’t expect any with the Prism TV service.


  19. Scott
    2 years ago

    I live in central North Carolina and had Prism installed last week. So far, so good. But, after reading this I will not discontinue my service through DirectTV until my 30 day trial is up. I like this system much better so far.


  20. GFMUCCI
    2 years ago

    We like everything about Prism except the movie selection which really sucks.
    Current movies are not available.
    Of the list of 600 movies, we have not heard of more than a couple dozen. Most seem to be between 5 and 15 years old. The on-demand movies on DISH were much superior. But we are saving over $40 a month compared to DISH. I guess for the 2 or 3 movies we may want to watch per month, we could get them elsewhere.


  21. Comcast Tech
    2 years ago

    Just a word of advice before making the switch. Once Century Link comes in and refits all your cable fittings on all your coax cables in your home please be aware even if you decide to cancel they will not revert back that process and in the event that you decided to switch back to Comcast you will be charged to make it compatible again with their services. I have already been in several unsatisfied customers home and Century Link will not even show up to pick up the equipment. Also, Comcast has the most on-demand content mainly due to its ownership of NBC Universal. Comcast is currently releasing multi-room DVR for its customers and while it doesn’t completely match up to what Century Link claims, it does deliver a reliable service to the customer.


  22. Terrie In MO
    2 years ago

    We have had Prism for a few months now and I am ready to go back to Dish!! The Prism rep/salesman grossly misrepresented what our monthly cost would be, it was supposed to be around $150.oo for internet, phone and TV.. of course our first bill was higher, more like $360.00! Called them and initially the customer service rep on the phone agreed to uphold what the salesman had stated, but so far not one of our bills has been the same. I can’t figure out what I am supposed to pay and what I am paying it for!! Secondly… You’re suppose to be able to record 4 shows at once… maybe.. but only if that are NOT in HD. It will only record 2 shows in HD at a time. Dish does the same thing! I don’t like the remote, I don’t like the way the system (guide, menu, dvr menu’s etc.) works! I liked Dish’s better. The main reason we switched was because Dish was going down more and more and pixelating out. I think we just needed the dish on the roof adjusted. Dish was going to charge me $60.00 to come do this. I have been paying $6 a month for repair service for 5 years and they still want to charge me to realign my satelite?? That was the last straw that made me change to Prism.. now I wish I had swallowed my pride and paid the 60 bucks!! I’m getting real tired of talking to these people…!!!


  23. Frank
    2 years ago

    I have prism now and had problems with the router. This is the second the equiptment has failed. You can not get any help when you do not get home untill 4:00 pm to find out you have no tv, no internet, but you do have phone. When I called the tech support they kept me on the phone for two hours and then tell you that there is nothing they can do to fix the problem, They then put in a ticket to send a repair man out but you must wait 24 hours. I was told that the repair man would be at my house aftre 4:00 pm but they came at 12:00 and did not call but they left a note on the door everthing is fine outside but they could not get into the equiptment. Now its another time the router has failed and again no help for 24 hours, Maybe. The equiptment stinks and you can not get them to fix it but they are still charging you for no tv,or internet. What a rip off.


  24. Judy Anderson
    2 years ago

    I really like several things about Prism TV. However, they were very dishonest about the cost. I was told I was given special discounts and my total for TV, Internet and phone would be $87 and change for “ever”. I called back several times to make sure about the price and each time the person in customer service looked up my account and assured me that the $87 was correct with no time limit.
    Every month after installation, I had a problem with the bill, such as being charged for long distance phone calls when I was told I had unlimited long distance. Now after 4 months, I find that the price they gave me was only good for 3 months. They want to raise my price $20 a month, but after my speaking to a supervisor and yelling for a half an hour, they cut it down to a $6 dollare increase. I was told that if I call in June, they will extend that amount.
    For what I am getting, it is still cheaper than Cox. I am just very upset that no one was honest about how much it was going to cost.
    Be sure you try to get the sales person to be honest about the cost before you decide to instal this.


  25. Kim Thompson
    2 years ago

    I should have done my homework/research regarding this new CemtryLink/Prism BS. The fast talking salesman apparently quoted me a reasonable price which sounded great and promised I would be getting the same programing I currently was receiving from Dish….now I find out most of your salespeople are liars and will do and say anything to get their commision…..they probably have supervisors telling them to do and say anything to get my business plus getting the same channels and making false promises with a smile on their face….guess a commision is more important….I tried to call customer service and it is the worst rude experience I have ever encountered…..Oh yeah…be sure to read the teeny tiny 4 page customer agreement….even though the saleman promised the same price for 5 years….seems the agreement can override that, cancel for any reason, and do what they please….they are money hungry and fail in the end and steal all our money and go bankrupt…..nice….I am so dissapointed I did not do my research…..I was in the middle of making dinner when your rep knocked at my door and he just refused to leave and so I gave in. I was promise other equipment, which I did not receive, the service installment took over 5 hours and my so called fast internet has already crashed twice. CentryLink/Prism is a scam, I live in Vegas and this is just unacceptable. Do your research people!!!!!….because they are not an honest reliable company and the reps will do and say anything to get thier commision…..no morals, lousy customer service…..and the commercials the company airs every 5 minutes are not real customers….they are paid actors reading from a script…..I feel so angry….I just ordered it yesterday…..and now I haved to go 3 weeks to get it uninstalled……DONT GET SUCKED IN LIKED I DID YOU WILL REGRET YOUR DECISION


  26. Dole
    2 years ago

    I have live in Las Vegas and has had Prism since December. I recieved the 100.00 gift card that was promised after three monts of service. I have to agree the service is poor and you are throwing money away because it freezes up to much.


  27. Jeremiah
    2 years ago

    For an huge fee, I have seen more people dissatisfied with Comcast on the field. That is why the changed their name to xfinity because of becoming black balled by the BBB. Century link has better internet and will only be a matter of time before it is complete fiber to the premise. Unlike cable, that monitors your internet usage, caps you and makes you share your bandwidth with your neighbors. Prism has some kinks to work out but it is a better service. You can get 20 meg dedicated towards internet, your you don’t share and 20 meg dedicated towards your tv. PS Mr. Comcast you don’t broadcast in 1080….TRUE HD. I also don’t like the fact that comcast supports complete gun control and internet censor ship as well. They are also a huge backer of the Obama admin.


  28. Buck
    2 years ago

    Sign up for this service in Nov 2011. At the time of signing up we were give a 1 year contract at asset amount. In April of 2012 they raised the monthly rate by $15.00 I contacted them an. Told them that we had a one year contract that was not to have
    A rate increase. I was informed that the contract was not going to be inforced they said that they did not Start having set contract until Jan of 2012 and that are contract was invalid. I spoke. To 4 different people on the same day three supervisors and one poor attendant. After much discussion an telling them take their service out of my house and threating to go to my State Attorney they agreed to honor are contract at the original price for one year.
    So it up to you if you feel they are worth doing business with. We plan on dumping it after a year is up and going back with Dish


  29. J Coffey
    2 years ago

    WELL,,,we have had it only about 2 weeks., so we’ll see.. I too have promises on the rate plan and a 5 year guarantee. so far we have not had any issues., except: the part of only watching one HD channel at a time., OR: if you are recording a show in HD you cannot watch another show in HD., so for us high tech people with all these HD tvs in the house?? pointless…


  30. KatherinePreston
    2 years ago

    The bigest and only problem is that my tv keeps freezing up go to sleep wake up to a froze tv need help


  31. Mike R
    2 years ago

    We got PrismTV- Orlando, FL install last week- May 2012. Three HD tv ‘s for the family but only one person can watch HD at any one time. Plus if you are recording a HD DVR selection, no one in the house can watch HD! Cancelling after ten days. Looks good on the salesman sheet but don’t waste your time and money until they upgrade their hardware.

    Went from Brighthouse 3 HD to 1 or none so we are done.


  32. Harold Anthony
    2 years ago

    I have Century Link dsl that gives me 8 or 8.5 down and 1.5 to 2Mb up. But is drops out a lot. Two sales people came to my house and wrote the order up making it clear that the DSL was being phased out and that the new internet service is 10Mb up and down. I asked twice and they confirmed it. It is not. I may get 7.3Mb down but up is stuck at .2Mb. Cannot upload anything. They also mispresented the video. They promsed I was getting HD across the board. I asked and confirmed it on the list of stations that they marked for me. When the tech showed up all I had on the order was the minimal service, no HD at all and just a few stations. I challenged it and he spoke to his supervisor and came back in and then installed HD with many more channels to boot. The video looks good but I work at home and the internet is critical to me. I am not sure they will make it through the week.


  33. CenturyLink Rep
    2 years ago

    i went through and read alot of comments. im a sales rep for CL and from what ive read about other reps i dont like. (i am very honest and upfront) because a sale is not worth my character and integrity. its a new system so it has its problems. but everything has pros and cons. im sorry for all of you who exerienced a difficult time with the service or customer support.


  34. Keri P
    2 years ago

    Just got Prism over the weekend and I LOVE IT !! My install tech was on time, friendly and very helpful and honest (something you don’t find very often) !! I am gonna keep it and drop Comcast …… Comcast has been nothing but trouble since day1 and their “customer service” leaves much to be desired !!


  35. Brenda Andersen
    2 years ago

    I’ve had Centurylink Prism Premium for almost a year now. I’ve read many comments before installation and after. Here’s my opinion: The picture is everything they say it is (with HD TV). Standard channels are nice, too, but the HD are superb. The sales person told me that I would receive $150 in help pay off Dish for early termination…it took 6 months to get it, but I did get it. Rep said I could record 3 shows while watching a fourth..This may be true if all were in standard def. HD bandwidth is limited. The sales reps say whatever they need to say to make the sale. They did miss their first appt. I complained, they came next day and did a great job installing and also fixing a previous problem with internet being kicked offline when phone rang. They started increasing prices after 3 mo and I called them again. I was not told that my pricing was a special pricing. They were willing to negotiate with me. All in all…still better than Dish. Dish is truly clueless when it comes to customer service. Am I sorry I left Dish and went to CL Prism? Not at all. I do miss Nat Geo Wild, though.


  36. Alice Swartz
    2 years ago

    I had Prism installed last week. I agree that the picture is unparalleled. DISH had HD only on the TV where the receiver was hooked up. Over the weekend the picture froze. I called tech help and they walked me through the procedure to bring me back online. Since then, however, every so often the picture will freeze long enough for me to think, “Here we go again.” Then it rights itself. But in the meantime the show ends up with parts missing. This is irritating. We need to work through the kinks.


  37. Randy
    2 years ago

    Just got it and looks pretty cool. Minor differences from DirectTV. Still figuring out some functions. Cost was way less than we were paying for the same service thou!++++


  38. Steve
    2 years ago

    Must switched to prism from directv after the whole Viacom fiasco. Anyhow I was happy with the switch until just a few hours later during prime viewing time 6-10 I keep getting freezes on the channels I watch. It’s like I just opened a whole new can of worms. Plus the tech support is not available after 7pm. It’s my first 2 days with service and keeps freezing, of course during the day it’s fine. It’s as if their network pipeline is not strong enough, or they’re servers cannot run that much at that time, either way they need to increase whatever it is that controls the strength or capacity at a time. This is the problem with digital. Maybe I should have waited a little more patiently with directv… So if your not willing to put up with 5-20 sec freezes during your favorite shows, I wouldn’t choose prism tv


  39. Jack
    2 years ago

    Century link tv sucks!!!!!!! No customer service and it’s like watching direct tv in a rain storm except it’s not raining. I’m done with tv it’s obsolete.


  40. Rhonda
    2 years ago

    The worst piece of crap I have ever had. TV picture freezes and you have to use remote to go up or down a channel and then back to unfreeze. Maybe have a picture 10 seconds and freezes up again. Or TV picture is okay but no sound. Then just goes black – NOTHING! Call tech support and they have you unplug each tv in the house and plug back in. If that doesn’t work then unplug the wireless modem and wait, then replug. When that doesn’t work they do something to computers and either it works or they have to send it up a “tier”. Then I have to go through the whole thing again, which usually ends in a “dispatch” for a tech to come to my house, because “we can see a problem on the line”. I have had this crap since Nov 15, 2011. I signed a contract so I am STUCK until then, but when that day comes …. it’s GONE! I have had problems “at least” once a week since this was installed. I have gone through the drill so many times, I automatically do the unplug, shut off and replug of all components and ONLY call tech when I still cannot get it going! Today (Sunday) I’m told that a tech is too busy to come today. The last time I had to call a tech (a few week agon) the tech said it had never been dispatched and he was “just sitting around the office” all morning with “nothing to do”. Only after I called back did I get the usual, “I am SOOOOOOO sorry, we’ll dispatch it. I don’t know what happened.” I end up yelling at the person on the phone, whose fault it is NOT and I get upset, which does no good but raise my damned blood pressure. When the kid came around peddling this “crap” I was absolutely assured that I would have no freeze or tiling (which is what was happening on Mediacom cable and why I switched to begin with) with this Prism because it was all “digital”. Prism has been worse that Mediacom EVER was! Last night (07-28-2012) once again the TV screen was freezing up. I did all the things I have gone through before with the “service” people on th phone (unplug tv., wait, plug, unplug modem, wait, plug in modem) to no avail. I called the # for service as listed on the front of the tv box. I told the person I had already unplugged, plugged, etc. He said he could see “line problems” and would have to transfer me to “Tier 2″. He transferred me (without staying on the line to see if anyone answered) and I got a busy signal and then a hang-up. I called back and got, “I’m sorry our office is closed”! This morning I called and was told someone would need to be dispatched, BUT the tech was “busy” all day with other calls! I explained about the last dispatch that never got dispatched and what the tech told me about sitting around …. but that got me nowhere, just another, “I’m soooo sorry”. Now I have to do without tv in the living room all day and evening and guess what …. tomorrow when the tech can come….I freakin’ work all damned day!!!!!! This is like freakin’ Groundhog Day! I absolutely WOULD NOT tell anyone to sign up for this – what a rip-off. I was told my bill would be $114.00 a month and the first month I got a bill for $248.98…so go figure? It’s been a battle with Prism EVERY moth since the crap was put in November 15, 2011. I was told I could NOT get out of the contract without paying a fee … imagine that???? What about the PROMISES I got from the guy peddling this crap? (oh yeah, customer service said…he DOESN’T work for us…he was hired as an “outside” contractor!) Sign on for this CRAP and you’ll be extremely sorry! Fool me once, shame on you….fool me twice, shame on ME. I will AGAIN be filing a complaint, today, with the consumer fraud department of my states Attorne General.


  41. Bev
    2 years ago

    I have had nothing but problems with my Prism TV since it was unstalled! Frequent freezing on both tv sets that can only be unfrozen by a lengthy call to customer service. I’m on a first name basis with the service personel who have come to my home repeatedly to ‘fix’ the freezing problem. Unfortunately, the fix never lasts. This week alone I’ve had the service man come out twice, thw third and forth appointment he was a no show. I’ve spoken to customer sevice on 5 different days (time!). Completely frustrated and returning back to comcast.
    One good point is that I’ve had no problem with my internet and phone service.
    Save yourself from the insanity. Don’t hook up with Century link!


  42. Will
    2 years ago

    I switched to Century Link’s prism service after having had their bundle with Dish – I wish I never switched. The service cuts out horribly and their sales reps promise the world and then fail to deliver. During the past 6 months I have had the repair tech to my house at leas 10 times to fix the latency and pixilation issues – still not fixed. Also for the last month Fox 49 in HD has not had audio available. I live in Crawfordville FL and have no other high speed internet options left – I never thought I would miss Comcast.


  43. Lynn Gibbs
    2 years ago

    Try roku it’s better because less hassel


  44. Rebecca Kell
    2 years ago

    I cannot get it to record shows yet. It says “will record” with the red dot on the episode listed, but it never does. I’m trying it for the third time. The help videos don’t seem to mention this issue.


  45. Ralph C
    2 years ago

    Just had it installed…tech was here for over 6 hours. I switched from Direct TV and REGRET it. My issues are:

    1. HD TV absolutely sucks compared to Direct TV and Brighthouse. The screen is smaller- like watching a wide angle movie. I never had this problem with Direct TV or cable.

    2. I cannot access my modem in order to change passwords and wi-fi network name. Was on phone with tech “support” for over an hour trying to fix this issue and they could not figure it out.

    3. Tech did a LOUSY job installing system. I have a cable sticking out of a phone jack cover- the cover is pulled away from the wall in order for the cable to hook up to the modem.

    I am calling them on Monday and getting rid of this crap. Extremely disappointed and I am not putting up with it. I’ll go back to Brighthouse for $99 a month for the bundle.

    DO yourself a favor and stay away from this garbage!


  46. Jim Scott
    2 years ago

    It’s been almost one year since your comment Jane Anthony Dec. 2, 2011.
    Do you still feel like you love the service. That’s what I’m concerned with.
    Seems like most people that have had the prism tv for a while, hate it.
    Thanks for every ones input. It helps a great deal.


  47. Keith Rexroth
    2 years ago

    I don’t know how I can say it any clearer than do not subscribe to Century Link Prism service. It doesn’t matter which “horrible” carrier you think you have now, CL Prism is 10 times worse in cable service, customer service and delivery of any promised services. Their commercials are 100% percent deceptive and you are in for a huge struggle if you sign up or switch. I thought Cox was bad but returned to them after canceling and I see them in a new light. Spread the word.


    • prismreviews
      2 years ago

      Ouch. Thanks Keith. More than 1 year later, and the service still doesn’t really exist. Wow.


  48. J. Halon
    2 years ago

    i got this service in october of 2012. I had Directv before.
    I do in fact love it. Here is the thing, I live approx .75 miles from the hub in which the service comes from. With the exeption of a few “glitches” pixelation and a freeze, this is a great service. alot of hd, a great ability to DVR, though the restriction of not being able to record more that 2 hd and 2 digitals takes some time to balance. all in all, seems great so far.
    Initially, my issue was with billing, and I got frustrated. The door to door kid, Brendon, promised more than they actually offer, and wasnt accurate at all on what he said. That being said, Centurylink did make it right, and gave us all he offered…customer service did live up to his promises. I am satisfied with the service, and the clarity of the hd in one room and the clarity of sd in the bedroom. Normally, i would love to sit on this site and tell you all how I hate a service…but I cannot as of now. Almost 3 months in, and never had an issue. knock on wood. I was told this…the closer to a HUB that you are the better, the more people on that HUB before you, will affect it. maybe its the fact that I can walk to my hub in 3 minutes that makes mine work so well, i dont know…but so far so good!


  49. CENTURYLINK TECH
    2 years ago

    Like any other service there are bound to be issues depending on who installed the service. The majority of our installs are done by in house employees, not contractors, unlike most other companies. As a technicain who has worked for both Comcast and Centurylink i can honestly say that I receive far less complaints about Centurylink’s service than Comcast’s.We also have a 24 hour guarantee, which guarantees we will have a technician at you’re home within 24 hours to fix any problems you are experiencing. If you are even slightly considering making a switch i promise you wont be dissapointed! Prism is the future of TV!


  50. Jan Jernigan
    2 years ago

    We switched to PRISM TV by CenturyLink. It is TERRIBLE. Never get any tech support when you need it. You can FORGET it if you have a problem after hours and week-ends. If you have a problem during the week-end… you may as well plan to be without TV until their business office opens on Monday AM. MY HUSBAND HATES IT!!!!!!!


  51. Bugsy
    2 years ago

    I am at the end of the worst 30 days I ever had on the Internet, and with me that’s saying something. I work as a Telecommunications Engineer, the following is what I found:
    TV — great picture
    Internet — ok if all you do is browse the internet, but if you game online, forget it, this outfit sux. Lousy service, and while the originally dupe people by saying this is “Prism” and Fiber Optic, thats all BS. It may be Fiber on the Trunk to the neighborhoods but, the last mile is DSL, yeah thats right, DSL.
    Get cable, you might pay 12 bucks a month more for it, but you get good speed UPload and Download, great Ping rates and solid connections.
    I spent 5 hours on the phone with the “service” dept. They had no idea what the problem was. I asked them flat out about claiming to be Fiber optic, the guy couldn’t even give me any knowledgeable info,why, because they really don’t have any idea.
    GET CABLE or even one of those go anywhere Modems that uses cell service, get ANYthing but this piece of crap.


  52. Leonora
    2 years ago

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE PRISM TV. I’ve had it for over 2 YEARS! The only thing that comes close to how much I love it, is how good their customer service is to make you happy even if you have a problem. ALWAYS resolved…so I stay with them. I never felt so important with a service provider as I have with them. I had COX CABLE for over 15 years because they had the monopoly on cable in Vegas. All they ever did was remove channels from my package, raise my rates and give all the discounts to new customers. They advertised endlessly in all media avenues, it was disgusting. Since PRISM has come to town COX is whining like the PIGS they are!!! They finally have reduced their rates and begging to keep their unsatisfied customers. You won’t know how good PRISM IS TILL YOU’RE A CUSTOMER. Everything is negotiable. DONT BELEIVE ME? Call for yourself! 866-519-7885 if you want we can even get discounts on our bills if you are a friend and a referral. Hey you dont have to try them. I am just happy happy happy happpy . They renew all my discounts yearly. COX will never do that unless you threaten to leave them! So read it and weep…real life 2 year customer here !!! Oh, did I mention how cool the DVR box is at no additional chg either. TV pic wonderful. OK enough. I LOVE PRISM TV LOVE IT LOVE LVOE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!


  53. Buck
    1 year ago

    Well like I said back in April. Prism stinks we gave it a year to the day and then we went back to Dish were we should of stay to begin with.
    The real joke came in Dec they sent us a bill for $ 120 saying this is what we owed them for eight months that we did not pay the increase that they place on to are monthly bill. I contacted their offices and spoke to 5 different folks informing them that we had gone through this back in April when I remind them that I had sign a contract in Nov of 11 for $102.00 a month for the bundle. And that they were obligate to honor the contract. It took two days of threating them with legal action through are state attorney to get them to drop their request for the additional money which they where claiming i was owed them. So beware of these folks they are very hard to do honest business with.


  54. Kent
    1 year ago

    I live in Las Vegas and subscribed to Cox cable for 19 years. While the quality of their product is very good, I was angered because Cox routinely moved channels away from analog and increased the price. (Some of my TV’s had analog cable while the living room TV had digital cable. So most of my TV’s lost channels.) I switched to Century Link Prism in June 2012. I have found the quality and reliability equals that of Cox. Their customer service was quite responsive on the occasion that I called. Of course I expected this because of the excellent customer service I have received from their DSL service since 2006. One disadvantage is that Century Link Prism does not offer CBS Sports Network or the Time Warner Sports channel, making it difficult to watch UNLV games. One advantage is the Century Link modem and DVR boxes use much less electricity than the Cox cable box. I checked my bills the first few months and noticed that my electric bills were lower when compared to the same months in 2011. I am staying with Century Link Prism.


  55. Jerry
    1 year ago

    Remember those old time bicycles from the 1880′s that had the big front wheel and the small rear wheel? Comparing the Prism DVR to a TiVo is equivalent to comparing one of those big wheel bicycles (Prism) to a Porsche (TiVo).

    I just looked it up, they are called a Penny-Farthing… Yeah, that’s it: Prism is a Penny-Farthing DVR. I’m glad to be rid of the useless Prism piece of junk.


  56. Ron
    1 year ago

    I have called CL about the availability of Prism at my home for over a year now. I is and has been 4 houses up the street from me but they can’t seem to ever give me an answer to when it will get to my address. This to me is absolutely careless customer service and I am not even a customer yet. I can’t imagine what it would be like if I were a customer. They just don’t seem to care about customer service at all. I really wanted to try the prism tv but I will not have it now if they gave it to me.


  57. Terri Tuso
    1 year ago

    Where do I begin? I wanted to try prism and the evening I got it hooked up we had no movie channels as promised. When we called we didn’t have anything we were promised. When I discontinued the prism we found out they cut my wires to my direct tv. I paid $55 to have them connected. Customer service is very poor. They don’t care. I filed a complaint with BBB. It’s a nightmare. Don’t ever do prism.


  58. Paul Migala
    1 year ago

    After getting another Cox cable increase that showed up in my monthly bill, over $10, I decided to look at other dish type service. This brought me to Century Link. At one time, this area, Gilbert,AZ was Quest. They provided excellent phone service. So how bad can they be now. From reviews I have read, it can be pretty bad.

    Went to the Century Link sales office as I could not get detailed information on their web site. This was a hint of things to come. Discussed a total package of phone, Internet and TV was what I wanted. Looked good when the sales rep discussed Prism. Wow, what features this system has and price was great for what I wanted. I found the pricing I liked on the Prism web site. However, I had a few questions that needed to be answered before I would change over to Prism. I called the number listed on the Prism web site and talked to a customer rep after a few minutes wait time. Not bad. The rep told me I could not discuss any details with her because I lived in an area that once was Quest and was given a number to call. Called that number and I had to be transferred again to another rep that specialized in Prism.

    I spent 0ne hour and 15 minutes discussing my needs verses what she was able to explain, and answers to questions I had. She really tried, but was having to talk to others, including her supervisor. It was obvious that she was not properly trained in the technical aspects of a total system.

    One thing that came out of our discussion was the fact that her marketing plans for service was different than what I was viewing on the Prism web site. This was mentioned in one of the reviews posted on the Internet, maybe here.

    I left her with what I felt was a good feeling about switching to Prism. That was until I did some research on user feedback. Looks like I have a 50/50 chance of being a happy customer. Don’t like the odds and will not switch at this time.

    I will wait for a couple more years for Century Link to get their act together and take a look again later.


  59. Jim
    1 year ago

    Is Prism just a fancy name for what was once Embarq TV of a few years ago?

    Or is it a whole new concept. tried the Embarq TV and was the first in my neighborhood to have it, it was so bad I had to have the volume turned up to 50 to gat any goo sound out of it.
    I got rid of it, but thinking about Prism if it is anything different., I am fed up with Cox.


  60. Harris
    1 year ago

    Prism TV freezes all the time and the costumer services reps and techs go with the flow get it working for a few minutes; taking costumers money and providing bad services will shout you down one day.
    Maybe Century Link leadership don’t know about the issues. Why roll out prism TV with so many issues.


  61. Dee
    1 year ago

    Centurylink prism has been a nightmare from the first day it was installed! We’ve had freezing, pixelating, can’t record & the latest thing, the green light on the dvr just turns off! Causing everything to shut down! I can’t even tell you how many times we’ve had repairmen out to fix issues! We’re on our third DVR!! The Internet is a joke! My kids can’t even connect to our own Internet in their rooms! We don’t have a big house AT ALL! We’re almost at the end of our 2 yr contract & I can’t wait to get rid of them!! We had Directtv for 10 yrs & didn’t like when we lost picture when it rained..I’ll take that back, considering I’ve had to reset my DVR at least 10 times today!!


  62. Dave L.
    1 year ago

    Prism is just making its way into the Phoenix area. So I inquired about pricing since I have CL DSL and telephone. A bundle with Prism would only save me $13 a month! And given the overwhelming negative reviews, I wouldn’t go near it. AND BEWARE: CL does not have 24/7 customer support–no evenings, no weekends! How bogus is that? Isn’t that when most people watch TV? I’ll stick with Direct TV–had it since October 2012 and so far no issues.


  63. Sam
    1 year ago

    I just recently got Prisim and did not know that they had disconnected my printer when installing the service. I had quite a battle with them to get someone to come out and fix the problem — with no charge. They wanted to charge me for coming out, but I battled long and hard. Only had the service for two weeks. Good picture with full screem, but other problems exist that is making me think about changing back to Time Warner. Changed from Time Warner because their prices keep going up and the programs they offer I have seen more than 30 years ago. I think that all of us subscribers should cancel all services at the same time to send a message to these people that we are not going to take their recycled programs at the outrageous rates they want to charge. Perhaps that will be the only way we can get fair prices and good programming from them.


  64. Steve
    12 months ago

    I’m happy!
    Switched from Dish Network and Cox Telephone/Internet service to all in one with Centurylink. Saving over $100.00 a month now. 4 televisions and all in HD.
    So far so good.


    • prismreviews
      12 months ago

      Thanks Steve. Let us know if things change (you can see others who were happy for the first 30 days … then they got hit with price increases).


  65. Mario
    11 months ago

    Junk I have had it for almost 3 years now and we just HATE it… Dumping it for Cox internet and then using HULU, Netflix on ATV no more cable for us…


  66. William
    11 months ago

    I had Comcast for about 2 years and like a lot of people I was tired of the price increases. I saw a few commercials about Centurylink, which resulted in me looking up information about their services. I eventually signed up for the service and I was saving about $60 a month. The install went well and someone even came out before the install to make sure the wiring was okay.

    I will admit the 2 HD and 2 SD limitation was a shocker. But I only have only 3 TV’s in use at my home so it was not an issue. I would simply choose what I wanted to record and we just had a rule if you recorded something you won’t watch something at the same time. Or you could watch something previously recorded since that does not take over a slot. I very rarely record more than 2 shows at once so I know to mix up my shows with one HD and one SD so someone is not kicked off the TV.

    Something interesting happened a few weeks ago. I never noticed the prism boxes automatically update so I got confused when they shutdown. Just today I realized that they upgraded the HD/SD cap. I can have 3 HD at once now and 1 SD. So that’s nice when recording but again we don’t run into overlapping issues. I have never had any pixelation or freezing issues like others have reported. I guess I am luckily. The internet could be better but I am paying for the basic 10 MB line. I was told by the technician that the line could easily handle 50 MB if I wanted. I am unsure if this is possible since I don’t really need it.

    I have had the service for about a year now and I like it. If you have a large family that records a lot of stuff this service is probably not for you. Check your options before committing to a contract and don’t believe the door to door salesmen. One issue is the on demand, which isn’t updated much. I would assume they don’t have the large amount of rights that Comcast is able to get. I have never used on demand a lot but another member in my home does and complained about it for the first month.


  67. Tyler
    11 months ago

    I live in Vegas and just got Century link. It was a big hassle getting an installer to the house because They had the wrong phone number and sad they showed up and no one was home. I called and some dweeb at headquarters set me up another appointment and I clearly have him two new phone numbers to contact us with. Long story short, the installer never showed up for the second appointment. I called and they apologized and told me I will get a $50 credit on my first bill. They got another installer out the next day that was supposed to show up between 12pm-5pm. He showed up at 10am ( thank god I was home). He said he tried calling me but he was using the wrong number like the first guy had. He was nice and everything but now I tried recording a baseball and football game and it only recorded for 3 hours and 3 minutes then shut off! Does anyone know about this?


  68. Ken
    11 months ago

    prism sucks.have nothing but problems.poor coustmer service.i would not recomend this service to anyone.i cant wait to go back to charter…screw you prism you will never see me again.


  69. Mike Nussman
    11 months ago

    Centurylinks complete apathy to my concerns of their contractor cutting 3 sprinkler lines,breaking off 4 heads and cutting the water service line to home.This resulted in a large hole in the front yard and the utility light pole had to be temporalary removed before it fell over.

    NOW I had a sewer back up and it looks like they even damaged the 4 inch sewer line.The plumber will insert a camera today to confirm this.

    What a bunch of idiots!!!!


  70. Robert
    10 months ago

    BEWARE !!! I used to have Cox Communications. I have two homes that I switched to Prism. Prism has good points & bad points. THE GOOD POINT (AND THERE’S ONLY ONE) is that if you like movies, their programming is very good. They have a wide variety of movies, many lesser films by name actors, that they rotate well so that you don’t have the same few choices that seem to play forever like most cable providers. Now, THE BAD POINTS. I got Prism in my home. The reason that I decided to try Prism is because all the movie channels were included for the same price as I was paying Cox without those channels. Well, surprise, surprise. They lied to me to get me to sign the contract. Then, a couple months later, all of a sudden, my bill jumps $40 per month. I was going to cancel but my wife & granddaughter like the programming and wanted me to keep Prism, so I did. Now, regarding my other house. I have a vacation rental home that I switched to Prism (before they raise the price on my home service). Again they told me that for my $145 per month I would receive all the movie channels. Well, guess what. They lied. Less than three months after I switched that house to Prism I was at the house doing repairs and turned on the TV. All the movie channels were gone and so were half the lower numbered channels. I called Prism to ask them what happened to my movie channels and the other channels. I told them I used to have those channels and now they’re gone. The customer service rep I was talking to told me that I never had those channels. I told her that I know I had those channels because, due to the East coast feed they were distributing on the West coast, the adult programing came on at 9 pm. Therefore, I had to use the parental controls so that renters with young kids wouldn’t be expecting Disney and end up with porn. Then the reps told me that if I only had basic service and that if I did have the movie channels I had them by mistake. I told her that the only reason I switched to Prism was because they told me that those movie channels were included. Then she told me that if I wanted to pay $30 more per month they would give me back the movie channels. I told her that I wasn’t going to pay another $30 to get what I was told I was getting when I switched to Prism in the first place. I decided to cancel and go back to Cox. Then they tell me I have to pay a $90 cancellation fee. I told them I’m not paying it. I was told I would receive certain services from them. They failed to deliver at the agreed upon price. If they had delivered what I was sold, I wouldn’t be canceling. I’m not responsible for their failure to deliver as promised. I like Prism programming but I don’t like getting scammed. CENTURY LINK – PRISM PULLED A CLASSIC BAIT AND SWITCH SCAM ON ME AND IT PISSES ME OFF. PRISM LIES TO YOU AND TELLS YOU YOU’RE GETTING ONE THING TO GET YOU TO SIGN A CONTRACT. THEN THEY EITHER JACK UP THE PRICE OVER WHAT YOU WERE TOLD OR THEY DON’T DELIVER WHAT YOU WERE PROMISED AND THEN DEMAND YOU PAY MORE TO GET WHAT THEY TOLD YOU THAT YOU WERE GETTING IN THE FIRST PLACE. THEY’RE A RIP OFF SCAM AND I’D BE VERY CAREFUL IF YOU DECIDE TO TRY PRISM. I don’t mind paying the price if I know up front what the price is and what I’m getting for that price. I have a big problem with any company that lies to you to get you to buy from them and then doesn’t deliver or tries to charge you more than agreed. LASTLY, PRISM HAS CONSTANT TECHNICAL PROBLEMS. In the middle of watching a movie or a football game, all of a sudden the picture gets all pixelated and the sound all garbled. Sometimes the picture just freezes and the sound stops. Other times just the sound goes off. Technical Support told me that if the sound goes off I needed to wiggle the HDMI cable to get the sound back. It worked, but sometimes I had to do it a dozen times a day. Even as I’m writing this all my channels are pixelated and the sound garbled. I called Prism and they said they’re aware of the problem, it’s a nationwide problem and they have no estimate of when the problem will be resolved. I won’t be watching the Super Bowl on Prism, that’s for sure. Bottom line…BEWARE OF PRISM. If you get scammed like me, I suggest you file a complaint with the FCC. That’s what I plan on doing.


  71. Mike Chiesa
    9 months ago

    Tech left and phone and half my TV’s weren’t working, put hole in floor 3″ from baseboard. Made appt and next day said the had no record. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!


  72. C brown
    8 months ago

    If frame frees stops great if not must go 4 service call in 3 day working now?????


  73. Craig S.
    6 months ago

    I switched from Direct TV to Prism about 9mo ago. I have experienced daily freezing of the screen for about 10 sec. multiple times a day, before it starts again. Tech support says reboot the system…..really I hadn’t though of that! Then they asked if my cables were installed correctly and making good connection. They installed them…I didn’t. but I checked and they were fine. The other issue is the combo modem/router is supposed to be an “N” speed which should optimally get me to 150Mbps or faster. I am getting 54Mbps which is “G” speed. The tech says that is fast enough for their service. I have a belkin 750 dual band router which I wanted to set back up..alas it is not compatible with their system or so they claim. There is no way to turn off their wireless and use mine, in fact they changed the password and login to their modem so the customer could not access it…why? They said they could turn it off but I would still only get 54Mbps as that is the speed that the tv boxes need…really what crap.. I am not an IT expert, but I have built nearly a dozen computers, and have set up several home networks. I am going to switch very soon if they can’t come up with a way to get me faster wireless. BEWARE if you have a gamer in the house they will be pissed at the lag and speeds on wireless. It is acceptable if hard wired but that is not practical in every room. They failed to mention this when we were ordering, in fact they were really selling the “fast” N wireless service…so buyer beware…this smell like bait and switch to me. .


  74. Manny
    5 months ago

    I have had Centurylink Prism for almost two years and I am currently researching the other options in my area. The service stinks in Moore County NC. Every night the tv freezes and eventually the system comes back up. It is unenjoyable to try and watch anything this way. When it works it is an excellent system but it is frustrating to have to wait for the image to unfreeze at least once a night. Stay away from this system.


  75. Karl
    5 months ago

    Today I asked the Prism folks what they could do to FoxSports1 which broadcasts NASCAR racing. The graphic on the side that gives track standings cannot be seen as the screen is not wide enough. On Direct TV, you press the “Normal” button on the Direct TV remote. Then the whole picture shows up.
    CenturyLink Prism says I have to live with only a partial screen showing and there is NOTHING they can do, but they did wish me a good day.
    They manage to raise my monthly fee with no problem. I guess “Customer Service” is not part of their Mission Statement.


  76. David
    5 months ago

    I live in Longwood, Fl and Century Link uses the ‘Bait and Switch’ technique in our area. Buyers beware.

    We currently use Bright House Networks for our home phone. internet and television service. I was interested in switching to Century Link to save money since our Bright House bill keeps going up. The sales person from Century Link came to our house and totally misled his product, service and price.

    The BAIT
    From a Century Link sales person I was promised, quoted and signed up for $140 package that included 30MB of Internet (matching what Brighthouse currently deliveries), 2 TVs using a DVR and Century Link’s Prism Preferred Package, 5 TVs not using a DVR and using the Prism Essential package, and switching our current phone number from Bright House to Century Link.

    THE SWITCH
    Installer comes to our house and immediately the price starts going up. First he says he can not delivery the 30MB internet as promised. He said at best I will get 10MB with the TVs off and probably 5 MB with TVs on, but of course for extra they offer a 50MB package. NO THANKS. Then the installer says I only need one home DVR, not two like the sales person described, but each of the other 7 TVs will need a box that is $8/month. Are you kidding me! The $140 quote from the sales person just rose to over $200 (by the way $30 more than our current Bright House bill). NO THANKS.

    I encourage people to stay away from Century Link, if they use such an unethical business model to sign people up, I cannot imagine what else if I ever needed them for a technical problem down the road.

    I cancelled and kicked the installer out. You should do the same!


  77. dilly
    5 months ago

    I have had the service for just over two months now and it is a huge upgrade from Cox Communications that I had before. I have all three services offered (tv, internet, phone) and I’m paying about $50 less a month, the tv pitcure is better, more channels, whole home dvr, useful apps. I did have to change the screen resolution to 1080i after the installer left on the box, but it was no big deal to do. I was told the internet speed would be at least 10mps, so far i consistently get 25mbs. I can see the needing a box for each tv being a pain and pricey for some people. My service includes two boxes, one of them is “wireless” (just means no ethernet going from wall to box, there’s still the power cable and hdmi to the tv. This setup is great for me as there are only two tvs in the house, and really only one ever gets used. My only complaint is the ondemand, a lot of the ondemand channels arent in HD, even though i have the channels in HD for live viewing and the DVR.

    To the person missing part of your screen you might want to check the aspect ratio on the box, to get to it push the “zoom” button and then select from the menu that pops up.


  78. dilly
    5 months ago

    I forgot to mention, I am in the Northwest area of Las Vegas. The price I received when I called was also less than the price quoted online before taxes and fees. Their customer service through the entire setup and install process was amazing compared to Cox that had encouraged me to go to a competitor.


  79. Donisia Trujillo
    4 months ago

    The television service is amazing, the fact that you don’t need all the wiring to watch tv is great, its the customer service that really makes us want to leave this company. Sacrificing the great television and internet service is almost worth it to go with a company that has better customer service. The agents have raised their voice at us when we have tried to call and resolve issues on our bill, actions were not taken to do the right things, such as adding me to the account. We had to call in FIVE times just to get transferred to someone who could actually help us with that, and then had to be transferred again to someone who could finally help us resolve our issues that we had been fighting with them for almost 3 months!!! We were charged for boxes that we never received and were never credited back for them until now, 3 months later!!! Some of the reps told us not to worry they handled it for us to keep seeing this $300 bill for unreturned set top boxes. We love our internet and TV service but if we have to deal with anymore unruly customer service reps and continue seeing outstanding charges on our bills we are leaving to find a better company with better customer service.


  80. H H
    3 months ago

    I hate century link. The customer service is terrible. I have spent hours dealing with them. They are so disrespectful of my time. They charged me $65 for a ppv fight that froze the whole time and even went completely black for 3 rounds. My tv freezes all the time. My internet goes out all the time. I’m so irritated with this company I can’t say enough bad things about them. The only problem is that cox is no better. I wish there were an alternative that actually cared about customers and could deliver what they promise.


  81. Pamela
    3 months ago

    I have had Prisim for 7 months and loved it! About once a month I have to reset the main STB and wifi. That is a pain. But manageable. In the past 3 weeks or so everything I record freezes and skips on the screen. This makes it impossible to watch recorded programs. It is very frustrating. Ready to give up.


  82. Curt Johnson
    2 months ago

    It continues to have problems on a regular basis. As far as I am concerned the salesperson lied to us. No where near the channels I expected and the service is pretty mediocre for a wired service. Picture and sound quality will go in and out. Computers regularly lose IP address and the only way to get it back is to power off the Prism box. And now the secondary boxes can’t see the recordings on the DVR box. Customer service has been rude and not very well informed. I am looking forward to the contract being over. I would not recommend it to anyone.


  83. jay
    2 months ago

    I would love to got to try it but that was the worst service I’ve ever seen specially with a new customer my girlfriend took a day off So they could install they couldn’t install ended up cutting something on the Cox cable box when we called and asked about it they said they didn’t do it and they could get a tech out next Wednesday we both work days so that was not going to happenthey didn’t even care that we are pissed cancel our service didn’t even put up a fight


  84. Annoymous Person
    2 months ago

    We tried Prism and hated it. 2 sets of channels one for regular tv and one for HD. If you don’t have HD, the picture is terrible. If you click on an non HD channel, you have to press ok and it takes you to a different channel. We canceled during the trial periord and called Customer Service stinks, on hold for 26 minutes and tranferred 2 time to get the wire off my neighbors fence and also the huge coil of wire behind out house. They removed the wire off my neighbors fence but the huge coil of wire is still there along with the wire that runs behind my house (on the ground and in front of the garage door) and along ours and the neighbor next doors house.


  85. Steve
    2 months ago

    Prism is great as long as there is no rain, thunder or lightning anywhere nearby. We have been trying for the last six months to get issues with freezing and pixcelating fixed. Yesterday, they told me that there is a definite issue and they will be back today to check the line, equipment,etc. and would get it fixed. As the saying goes, NO Joy In Mudville.. Nobody showed up or came by. My wife and I have had to sit home waiting and wasting our day and time. We have had Prism for almost three years and and really liked it for about the first two years. I think they are having major issues servicing their product in this area and are not sure what to do except take the customer’s money. A shame as they are cheaper than cable and satellite. If they carry the SEC Network, I may have to suck it up and keep it UNLESS or local cable company decides to carry that channel at which time all bets are off.


  86. Allan Mills
    1 month ago

    Don’t have prism but the surveys don’t surprise me. In my case I have no choice for phone or cable provider. I believe CenturyLink doesn’t care about customer satisfaction-if you don’t believe me try to get them to help you!


  87. a
    1 month ago

    I am really pleased to read this website posts which
    carries tons of valuable information, thanks
    for providing these kinds of statistics.


  88. Raymond Waters
    4 weeks ago

    I have had PRISM for approx. 3 months. I had direct Tv before, thinking about returning! The picture on my 60″ TV is a lot better with prism, programming not best! lately, noticed still frame on some channels-watching NASCAR and picture freeze’s or other channels? I was using outlook for mail, was get scam messages with their centurylink heading, reported no return contact. some reason internet was fast in beginning, now slow, tried advanced system pro7-my computer is good, tried other tune-up programs computer good, In reading discovered a lot of complaints router C2000T they use, not able to handle the load> So, I think their should of been research done before releasing to public, now public is not happy with what they are paying for!!! Here in Las Vegas seems choices are limited centurylink or COX cable. I may return to Direct TV then go back to regular centurylink internet, different router.O, yes-its been 3 months and have not received credits from DIRECT TV cancellation? Direct Tv was fast 4 days, but Direct TV has centurylink do billing, says it maybe 90 days—they bill customer and or late charges, in my case I only pay centurylink bill, they try and work on your money- lie saying their customer base is greater, not showing cancellations!!! My case is around $280 credit


  89. Robert Brown
    4 weeks ago

    I had Direct TV w/2 full HD Boxes and only problems in 4+ years was clouds/rain. But we had 4 HD Channels available able recording preferences on two set top boxes. Now to Prism TV. When order for service was taken it took over 1 month from original promised install date to finally get the service. and Having got HD service for two TV’s when the instal was done was the first time that Century Link ever mentions that I would have 3 HD not 4HD channels available plus one regular channel. (Who watches regular TV on an HD TV?)???!!! This was 1st major rip off by their service. When order was taken was promised a $250.00 rebate after 90 days of service They lied again turned out they would only pay $100.00. 2nd major rip-off. Every time there is a major reboot to modem, your have to reset all your recording of programs schedule. I have had to learn to live with much less than the sales pitch said we would be getting. The original quote was for $167.00+taxes for two years …that has crept up to $214.00 with taxes. and taxes are less than $20.00. CenturyLink just charges you what ever they feel like with a take or leave it attitude. Now up to today’s new problem 07/01/2014 that they were supposed to change out the modem box as it was supposedly causing the requirement of resetting the box multiple time a day. Service Tech Jimmie G. came out and said my box was OK and didn’t need to exchange it out and the whole problem was in CenturyLink’s neighborhood distribution box. That other neighbor hood boxes had received the newer equipment and was not presenting those customers with the problems that this old box is. He said until the box/equipment is updated and modernized that I should expect these problems to continue. What a POOR Way for any Company to run their business especially when then will at their whim may over-charge you from an agreed upon price. I guess in is time for me to get the Florida Public Utilities Commission involved. Involvement will include the local supervisors/(?) Bosses of Kevin Lybrand and Kim Presanzo and other and at the Corp, level Chairman William Owens and CEO Glen F. Post and Exec Vice Pres. Karen A. Puckett. Maybe someone in this group will get the ball rolling and problems solved…I really doubt it as it seem that most of these CenturyLink employees are operating like an Ostrich with their head down in the sand. When the Prism TV HD is working is is a Very Good Picture.


  90. Steve
    4 weeks ago

    Same song and dance we got three weeks ago. Grounding issue and until everything is grounded properly, watching TV in a thunderstorm, even when there is not thunder in our immediate area is near impossible.Bottom line – they cannot service what they sell.


  91. Arlen Jenkins
    4 weeks ago

    Have had CenturylInk Prism tv for over a year and it is TERRIBLE. It freezes and locks up repeatedly. I can not watch any show with out freezing disruptions. I have call customer service numerous times (they are very nice) but my home service never gets better. I will never get CenturyLink TV again once my contract is up. Also, watch your bill, the bill will go up for no apparent reason, but when you call them they will adjust it back down.


  92. Google
    3 weeks ago

    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you


  93. Google
    3 weeks ago

    If some one desires to be updated with hottest technologies
    afterward he must be visit this web site and be up
    to date daily.


  94. Dean
    2 weeks ago

    Prism is garbage. Overpriced and poor quality. You get better HD over the air. Quality overall is awful. Watch out for contracts and hidden fees.


  95. Heather
    2 weeks ago

    I have centurylink and find the internet service is really frustrating me! On average I have to restart the box 1-4 times a weeks because the internet keeps skipping (freezing). And this may take 5-30 mins of consistently restarting the box over and over again. Every time I call to see what the problem is they say they see no issue. I have the rep’s ph # that comes out to my house in my phone. (She is really nice and wants to help but she can’t even seem to get help when she makes phone calls…. So sad)

    I also adjusted my bill because when I first signed up it was about $69.00. When the year ended it went up over $100.00. I have to call every year and ask them to bring down the cost.

    I would totally change companies but my only other option is COX and I had even more of a bad experience with them.


  96. Bill
    2 weeks ago

    Prism is terrible. DO NOT get it. They can only get it working for a couple of weeks at a time. Then you get to do the wait for the Tech thing. When I cancelled because it was constantly freezing and pixelating they tried to bill me with a bogus bill plus canellation charges. Run the other direction from these guys.


  97. Clint
    1 week ago

    I am currently with CenturyLink and have Prism plus internet. The picture quality is good, no complaints there. The internet is slower than the competition; CenturyLink is 10 MPS while the competitor starts at 30 MPS. I only do basic internet browsing anyway so no big deal on the speed. However, my chief complaint is the poor customer service and problems with the bill. CenturyLink and I entered into an agreement that I would pay approximately $112 per month but I have been charged much more since I renewed. I have called multiple times to complain and cancel but they tell me I will be charged with a $400 early termination fee. They will not budge even though I have not been billed the quoted price that we agreed to. I feel they did not honor their end of the agreement so I should be allowed to cancel the contract without penalty.

    I understand some people may only have CenturyLink as their only provider but I would STRONGLY recommend request a written estimate of expenses before you enter into an agreement. You do so with cell phones, lease agreements, credit cards, so why not with cable/internet subscriptions? Protect yourself.


  98. Judith Schwartz
    1 week ago

    I am thinking of switching from Brighthouse to PrismTV because I am tired of Brighthouse nickel and diming me. Since Brighthouse is switching to all digital, I will need six digital adapters at $2 a piece. I have installed adapters on two TVs and have found that those two TVs now pixelate and freeze.
    I am concerned about switching to PrismTV for two reasons. 1) I had CenturyLink Internet two years ago and found it to be unreliable. It was either not working or was so slow I couldn’t get anything done. I work on the Internet so this was unacceptable to me. Brighthouse Internet has turned out to be much more reliable. 2) I love my router. It is over 10 years old and I have tweaked it to where the performance is the best. I use MAC addressing as my security and I hide my network name. As I understand it, I will not be able to use my router with PrismTV.
    If anyone knows anything about my two issues, I’d like to hear from them.


  99. A123
    1 week ago

    This is the worst liars and company I have ever bought anything from in my life , they promise you a $100 gift card then once they install the worthless system they say oh you have to wait 4 weeks and use direct deposit they don’t tell you this until after they lie and promise it , then they charge more for your first bill which is normal for just about anywhere so that was fine until they decide that the price they promised it would go down to is not the real price then they have the people over the phone saying we never said that lol B.S then they put a whole in the wall because there contractor doesn’t know what hes doing and they refuse to fix it lol biggest trash and waste of time you will ever get


  100. Caralyn Schneider
    7 days ago

    Absolutely terrible experience just trying to ORDER this service. Had to call to change the apt number on my account. Found out they didn’t even have the first order. Then, went through hoops with a “3rd party vendor” who couldn’t provide an account number or a schedule date! WOW!!!!
    Had me running back to my old provider who was $$$ but reliable. Shame they can’t get their act together


  101. Mr. Arizona
    7 days ago

    Picture quality is great!
    …Installer showed up on time, got everything installed…
    5 TV’s and one internet outlet for my office. So far so good, BUT, while recording 2 HD shows and watching regular (HD) TV on two or three TV’s, the other screens just go blank… I can choose between canceling recording or something useless at that point and to just wait.

    Going back to DirecTV and pay a little extra.

    Sunny greeting from PHX

UNLIMITED Movies Online

Download movies online with MyMoviePass

Get DishTV For Your PC

Get DishTV for your PC

No Fee TV

PCTV4me

Huge Movies Download Site

Largest movies download site

Get Your Movie Hall Pass

Download Unlimited Moves With Movie Hall Pass

Download Classic Movies

Download Classic Movies

Legally Download Movies

Legally Download Movies